Arts on Main: David Krut Gallery

20120625-233012.jpg

20120625-232952.jpg

As prints often create a voice for the public, whether acting as signs in protests or simply a form of mass production, this gallery takes a more contemporary approach to printmaking and instead aspires for economic change. While there is no existing word for “art” in any of the official languages in Africa, this organization works hard to educate children on this vocabulary by selling their prints and published books featuring unrecognized artists to raise money to give free art classes and art supplies to children. By means of this, each of this gallery’s members tries to show children ways to express themselves and provide reassurance that one can have a future in art without being institutionalized. This extremely philanthropic group has reminded me of why I do what I do and what it is that I love about my chosen path through their passion and dedication. Here I have provided a few pictures of their studio!

