Something out of nothing

I actually got to view a piece by Outa Lappies today! It’s like they placed it there just for me to discover. It was one of his infamous lamps made from found tin and broken bottles and it was everything I imagined and so much more. It was completely a chance occurrence though that I was in that particular room. Janean had arranged for Chelsea to accompany us while we did the climate control check in the store rooms so she could get an idea of the magnitude of the collection and work to be done. We don’t normally go with Janean everyday on her rounds, or go to every store room, but today was more or less a convenient time for all of us.  We had made it to the 6th floor when I had glanced around the corner and there it was, sitting among two or three other unrelated objects on an examination table. I recognized it instantly. Just short of jumping up and down squealing, I rushed over the table to confirm what I already knew was true. Then, to an even greater surprise, I noticed a rolled up embroidered cloth that was, in fact, one of the famous chapters of his life! After reading and researching so much about Outa, it was such a privilege to get to see these works of art before they are even available to be viewed by the wider public. I can’t wait to learn more and hopefully be able to contribute to the work being done on proposing an exhibit of his work next year.

p.s. Interview with the cleaning lady on the first floor is a go!! (thanks to Janean) Now, I just have to find out her name before I actually begin speaking with her.

5 thoughts on “Something out of nothing

  1. I love that the lamp just appeared right for you. And I’m so curious to hear about this interview with Marie. What are you going to ask her?

    • Interview on Friday went great! She had so many stories to tell that I barely had to ask any questions. Luckily there wasn’t anyone in the library that day because we could barely control our laughter.

  2. One funny personal Auntie Marie anecdote that Selina did not include in her paper for obvious reasons: Outta, who was apparently quuuuuite the ladies’ man, was engaging in an affair with a married woman. Unbeknownst to them, her husband got quite sick at work and came home early. When Outta and his lady-friend heard the door being jostled, he hid inside a wardbrobe cabinet. He stayed there for two days until this woman’s husband was healthy enough to leave the house again.

    Cue this video.

Comments are closed.