Remembering

While I sadly had to leaveSouth Africa and am no longer sharing in your daily adventures I am still following all your activities and so excited for all you are getting to do!! Please keep posting everything!!

I am reading Nelson Mandella Conversations with Myself , and remembering all that we did the first two weeks. It especially has me thinking of our visit with Ahmed Kathrada and what a magical day that was. The book is a compilation of Mandela’s speeches, writings, interviews, journal entries etc. and there are many conversations with Kathrada in it. They remind me so much of the gentle, wise but committed man that we met, and as always I have been trying to sum it up as I work on my final project. Today it came to me …..the saying that” life is 10% what happens to you and 90% how you react to what has happened to you.” To react as both these men did is truly heroic.    

3 thoughts on “Remembering

  1. You’ll have to let us know some of the highlights from that book…it sounds great. And I think you’re onto something there about how we can learn about how we react to life. It’s similar to Liza’s post about putting out the various fires at the Social History Centre: the staff knows that the tasks are monumental, but they also just keep chipping a way at what they can. It’s really inspiring given how often I realize I complain about the little things.

    By the way, your documentation project is looking very cool…can’t wait to see it in person.

  2. We miss you, Gloria! Just the other day we were talking about how happy we are that you came on the trip. : ) Wouldn’t have been the same without you. Hope to “hang out” soon!

Comments are closed.