From Jozi to the Jungle

I have travelled to a few foreign countries before, but I have rarely seen such vastly different cultures within the span of a few days. I feel as though I have sat down in a restaurant and ordered a tasting board of South Africa.

Jumping from places like the David Krut Gallery in Maboneng, Johannesburg IMG_7294IMG_7324

to Kliptown (in Soweto)

Kliptown

to Kruger National Park

IMG_7730

has revealed the stark economic, cultural, and environmental contrasts present in South Africa today. We have been jetting around, tasting these different aspects of South Africa-but only tasting them. The rapid changes in our surroundings has been educational and experiential-but has left us hungry for a whole meal. I am excited to settle into Cape Town for the next five weeks, I hope to get a more genuine understanding of what it means to live in South Africa during that time.

