Into the Wild

I decided to go hiking without really planning too much where I was going. I headed in the direction of Signal Hill and Lions Head and eventually ended up climbing Lions Head. It turned out to be a 5 hour hike by feet. To give you a sense of my route here is a map (I started at Greenpoint on the top):

Screen Shot 2015-07-25 at 6.10.14 PM copy

It was nice to get away from the craziness of the city, take some time to breathe, and enjoy the other side of what Capetown has to offer. Since we didn’t hike Table Mountain, I thought this would be a nice alternative. Other hikers on the trail were geared up with their hiking shoes, windbreaker jackets, and small backpacks. I wore jeans, running shoes, and a light jacket, which I ended up tying around my waist because it got so warm. I was sweating a lot just mid-way through the hike. By the time I reached the bottom of Lion’s Head it was already over an hour of hiking. I kept going, forgetting that it had slightly rained earlier. The rocks dripping water and there were little puddles of mud. How authentic! South African mud!

I was getting so close to the top, then I approached all these ladders, chains and staples. I was not expecting it to be this extreme, but I climbed them somehow and made it to the top. I met a group of locals, who were graduates from UCT. I ended up hiking down with them. It was good that I did because it was so slippery on the way down. We were basically sliding down the mountain. The view was just incredible from everywhere on the mountain.

IMG_2995

By the time I made it down, I was in the back of Camps Bay. I said goodbye to the new friends and I decided to walk back to Greenpoint from there to catch the sunset along the shoreline. Part of the route, I jogged and then by the time I was right out of Camps Bay I walked. I love the feeling of the ocean wind blowing on my face. I probably looked horrible by then, but I felt great. I turned around and saw the mountain. It is crazy how I was up there just a couple hours back. I guess the sky and clouds aren’t as far away as I thought.

IMG_2947

IMG_2973

IMG_2983

IMG_3009

