Cape Town: Week 3 & Interview

This past Saturday, we experienced our first Rugby game at Newlands stadium (go Stormers!). On Sunday, we visited Cape Point and a few places on the way (Hout Bay, Kalk Bay, and Muizenberg).

On Monday (Mandela Day), we went to DuNoon, a township near Cape Town, to show kids objects from the Iziko museums and do some arts and crafts.

Alexa and I interviewed a few people from the Social History Centre. Here is the interview with Bradley who is a Preventative Conservator (my Iziko supervisor):

How did you get to this job? (What are the experiences you had before this job or educational requirements).

Bradley: “I got this job by default, Iziko wanted me. I was working for the provincial government, we serviced about forty museums as a conservator for the whole entire province. Coming to this job, I had about 11 years experience prior. I was busy with a masters in Material Science, understanding the behavior of materials and how they react to climate and other materials.” 

What is your favorite part about this job?

Bradley: “No two days are the same. Constantly demanding. Constantly thinking of new innovative ways. Every problem is different. Every exhibition is different. So you’re constantly evolved. Working, thinking, trying to be creative.”

What advice would you give to young people who want to become conservators?

Bradley: “It’s actually an exciting degree. It is very rewarding. I would advise young people, because it’s a good career.”

What would you like to be doing 5-10 years from now?

Bradley: “Probably teaching and empowering other South Africans in terms of conservation.”

What did you want to do when you were younger, did you ever think museums as a possibility?

Bradley: “I knew there would be a need for Science and Math teachers, so that was my initial root. But when I came to Cape Town, kids didn’t want to go to school, so I decided no, I’m just going to be wasting my time trying to help people that don’t want to be helped.”

WAN_2625WAN_2460IMG_6012IMG_5956

 

