June 21st

Today was our last day is Johannesburg, boy time has flew by. We didnt do much considering we have some long days of travel ahead. As a group we focused on hitting the spots that we hadn’t had a chance to check out thoroughly yet. Our first stop was Wits Art Museum (WAM), there we spoke with the head currator for the Lionel Davis exhibition about all of the installalations that were currenlty in the museum. This museum trip seemed to be a bit more informational from a currators stand point, rather than the artists that were displayed. The visit provided good insight for our upcoming internship in Iziko Museums.

Afterwards, we visited the Museum of African Design again with high hopes that it would be open this time, and it was! With their wide range of mediums it was easy to get lost in the beautiful maze of their collection. We also found a DOPE thrift store within the same vecinity of the museum, where Isadora, Kiana, Lizz and I all bought some pretty cool one of a kind pieces of clothing.

Then, we set out for lunch and decided to try out an Ethiopean restuarant. I have never tried Ethiopean food before so I was hesitant at first. However, in the end I was glad that I gave it a chance. It was like nothing that I have ever tasted before, and it was required that we eat our meals with our hands which was also fun. This experience made me more willing to try more new things during my time abroad.

Later on that night the Lizz, Kiana, Isadora and I met up with some of the artists that we met the first week of our trip at The David Krutz Art Studio (Chad and LB) and had an amazing night. It was a great way to spend our last night in Joannesburg.

